Townsville – Magnetic Island 

I arrived at the reef lodge hostel around 3, Townsville was a lot bigger than I thought it would be, I think because the name ‘Townsville’ I just presumed it was a small town lol! It’s actually a city!… And a very nice city! 
After I found out they had a cinema… 2 in fact! I went to the 4.30 showing of spectre, the new James Bond film, there was only 4 people in the cinema, so I stretched out, like I would at home haha, plus they have so much more leg room!! I also bought a frozen Coke, kinda like a slush drink! … As I predicted the film was amazing 😍
In the morning I met G and Ali, later on I realised … Ali and G… Ali G, 😂😂 2 girls from my Whitsundays trip, and we headed over to the island together, pretty cool they were visiting the same time as me as we caught the ferry together and hired a barbie car for the day! Magnetic island isn’t very big, but the bags are quite spread out so you’d need a car to get about! We drove round for a bit, visited a few beaches.
Later in the evening the girls came over to my hostel and we had a few drinks, then called it a night about 10 as there was so many drunken idiots in the bar, some lads were quite sexist, which really annoyed me, so I headed to bed before I punched him. 
It’s a nice hostel here, but it has its falls, the bathrooms stick… Not the hostels fault tho hahaha! Just didn’t seem nice there. 
Dropped the car back to the hire company at 11, but made a quick stop off to Geoffrey bay, about 400metres up they road were wallabies that live amongst the rocks, so cute, like mini kangeroos 😍 we caught the ferry back to Townsville at 11.10, I ended up going to the cinema… Again, but I was desperate to go and see the hunger games!… Which was amazing! Then did a food shop, cooked and chilled out for the rest of the evening as it was movie night, perfect 😊

Leave a comment