Melbourne 9th Dec- 18th

Melbourne 9th Dec – 18th
I found since being in Melbourne, I’ve become extremely lazy at keeping up to date with my diary, as I’m in Melbourne for 6 weeks I feel it will become increasingly repetitive. So instead of doing a day to day diary I’m just going to say about the places that I’ve visited instead 😊
I met a girl at my hostel on Friday 11th, her name was Julia. I invited her out in the evening as I was heading to Laurence’s and Chloe’s hostel to a Christmas party. I think it’s always appreciated more when you’ve been invited out by someone as its a chance to meet new people, plus is was Julia’s first night in the city. The evening consisted of us getting extremely merry at the Christmas party then heading out into Fitzroy in the evening… As to which Laurence had to give me red bull and water for the rest of the evening because I took full advantage of the cheap wine at the hostel… Whoops. I wasn’t that bad, just very merry! Getting into the Christmas spirit and all that! 
After feeling extremely sorry for myself the next day was a complete write off, I bought junk food and devoured it in the movie room where I watched movie after movie… Julia was with me. Later in the evening we eventually ventures out to buy some cake. Haha. 
One evening me and Chloe visited ‘Queen Victoria Market’, on Wednesdays it’s open until 10pm, it was brilliant, they had bands playing, music and alcohol stalls, and tbh loads of clothes stalls etc. It felt more like a festival than a market! So many people there drinking and dancing! After the market we headed to the town hall where we watched the town hall Christmas lights, it was incredible. They had set up a light projection from the other side of the road which lit up the entire town hall in colours and music playing along. I’ve never seen anything like it, amazing! 
Another day I visited the ‘Eureka Sky Deck’, it was about $19 to go to the top of this building, where you could see the entire city. Luckily for me I found a 10% voucher in a visitors guide in the centre… Love a bargain! The view from the top was incredible, just like the sky tower I visited in Sydney! 

After there I jumped on the city circle free tram and explored the city, felt like a sardine for a while as the tram was getting more full at every stop! 
Another day me and Chloe went for a picnic in the park, the pesky birds kept trying to steal my food, little buggers. The seagulls are crafty here… Later in the day we headed down to the river Yarra, where we came across ‘the Royal croquet club’, it was a venue set up for a week in which you could buy food and drink pimms, and of course play croquet. It was quiet during the day, so we played a little croquet and decided to head back on Thursday evening when it would be busier.
On Tuesday 15th I headed into Fitzroy with a few people I had met at the hostel and Chloe, we had some lunch… And a cider for me! Lol. Then in the evening about 23 of us headed out for dinner for Rose’s birthday, to a nice Italian restaurant called ‘Brucetti’, the food was incredible. It was a little awkward at first because I had only met rose briefly and she had asked me to go, I thought it would be a good way to meet more people at the hostel, but I found the group to be quite clicky as most of them work and live at the hostel, where as me and a couple of others are just travelling. After a couple of glasses of wine, the conversations were flowing a lot more. Thank god, I always hate situations like that, especially out for dinner, but in the end I had a lovely evening. I sat next to a French guy all evening, Kevin, it was quite fun actually as he was teaching me French and how to pronounce certain words, but after a few glasses of wine… I got worse hahaa! 
On Wednesday 16th me and Chloe headed to the night market with out new room mate, I still to this day don’t remember her name, think it was Emma.. Oops hahah! The night market was great! They had so many food stalls, alcohol and live music. After 2 sangrias i listened to some bands, such a great atmosphere! Then we headed back to the hostel about 10.30! 
Thursday 17th, me Chloe and Ellie headed to the Royal croquet club in the evening about 8pm, wow the drinks were expensive!! $35 for a jug of pimms… $40 for a bottle of rose wine! Before I knew it I spent a fortune on drink! After dancing the night away to the live djs we headed to Asian beer cafe, had a few more drinks in there then headed to a club… Then all I remember is waking up the next day.. I felt like my evening had been an episode of the hangover, I can’t remember going in the club, apparently I had a burger, and I can’t remember getting home. Luckily the girls said I wasn’t a Burdon and I was alright. But it scared me a little, I never get that drunk.. Even to the point where I can’t remember anything from the previous evening. Never again. I checked my purse in the morning and worked out that I had spent $120 in one evening… Idiot. So much for me watching my money… Grr. And I don’t remember half of my evening!! Sensible Charlotte is back now…! The next day was a write off, I did manage to go to the beach and sweat out the hangover, then in the evening I vegged out in front of the tv and watched step brothers and I robot! 

Leave a comment